Thomas Strange, Senior Director of Research and Development for Abbott, to Address Tri-County’s Spring GraduatesRead More
Real Estate & Real Estate Appraisal
This QuickJobs program is a WIA-eligible training program.
The first question most people ask about a job is: "What does it pay?" In real estate, the answer most often is: "Whatever you want to earn." But don't be fooled; you won't dictate employment terms. Instead, you'll be worth what you do.
Real estate can be an extremely lucrative field for those who are willing to take the time to learn how to succeed. According to the NAR Members Profile, sales agents who have been in the field for six to ten years average about $48,000 annually. Obviously, many agents make far more and the top producers can earn as much as a million dollars a year.
To earn more money, you must gain more knowledge, acquire new skills, work smarter, be more creative, or manage your time better to achieve greater results. Yes, it takes some effort (what terrific career doesn't?), but the financial rewards can be substantial.
Tri-County offers a variety of real estate training opportunities
Real Estate I: First Year Sales
This 60 hour course is the first step for those who want to list, sell, purchase, exchange, lease, or dispose of real estate for others in the state of South Carolina. Topics to be discussed are real estate sales, real property law, agency, federal/state laws and regulations, pricing of real property, contracts, finance and mathematics.
In order to take this course and to qualify for licensure the South Carolina Real Estate Commission (SCREC) requires you to be at least 18 years of age, have a satisfactory credit report, be a high school graduate or a recipient of a certificate of equivalency (GED), have proof of completion of the 60 hour pre-licensing class and receive a passing score on the state exam.
Upon passing the class you will receive a certificate of completion to apply to take the state exam with the SCREC. In about 2 weeks you will receive a packet from the SCREC containing the information to contact the company that gives the state exam.
Upon passing the state exam you will have 1 year to find a broker to hang your license with. Upon hanging your license with a broker you are able to start selling.
Real Estate: Post Licensing
This 30 hour Post Licensing course consists of five-six hour courses that are designed to be interactive and presented via multi-media. Successful completion of this class meets the requirements developed by the South Carolina LLR Real Estate Commission and will get you on your way to success in your chosen professional of real estate. This course consists of:
Real Estate: PL1 - "Agency and Property Disclosure"
Real Estate: PL2 - "Real Estate Contracts"
Real Estate: PL3 - "Ethics and Real Estate"
Real Estate: PL 4 - Measurements and Valuation:
Real Estate: PL5 - "Fair Housing"
Real Estate: Broker A: Broker Management - OPL004005
This class provides 30 hours of 150 hours required to become a Broker (90 hours required for the salesperson's license may be used). In addition to the hours, you will need three years of experience with a salesperson's license and pass a state broker's exam. This course covers short and long range planning, operating a real estate brokerage, liability of a broker for torts of agents; trust accounting, contracts, and ethics.
Real Estate: Broker B: Exam Preparation - OPL004003
This class provides 30 hours of the 150 hours required to become a broker (90 hours required for the salesperson's license may be used). In addition to the hours, you will need three years of experience with a salesperson's license and pass a state broker's exam. This course will cover real property law; agency, federal, and state laws; regulations; pricing of real property; contracts; finance; math; and closing statements.
Real Estate: Property Management - OPL004004
30 hours of education required by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission to receive a Property Management License. Topics include laws affecting property management, rental agreements, tenant relations after leasing and insurance.
Entry Requirements/What to Expect
Books are included with prices for each class.
Calculator will be needed and should be available for use.
State Requirements for licensure
- The South Carolina Real Estate Commission (SCREC) requires you to take a 60 hour pre-licensing class in a classroom with an instructor to be eligible to sit for the state exam.
- Upon passing the class you will receive a certificate of completion to apply to take the state exam with the SCREC. In about 2 weeks you will receive a packet from the SCREC containing the information to contact the company that gives the state exam.
- Upon passing the state exam you will have 1 year to find a broker to hang your license with. Upon hanging your license with a broker you are able to start selling.
For more information, call (864) 646-1700 or toll free 866-269-5677, Ext 1700
(within the 864 area code) or e-mail email@example.com
For additional class offerings, visit our full course listing and schedule of classes.